Form+Function: Entryway organization

When I saw this idea on Martha Stewart’s website last week, I knew it was the perfect solution to the key and mail clutter that sits on our entryway table.

mld103886_0209_mailboxhal15_l

Isn’t it a great idea? Now we never have to lose our keys or figure out where we put our mail again. So I went on a mailbox hunt…it’s surprisingly hard to find a white metal mailbox with magazine hooks. There were a lot of brass and black ones, but no white. So I bought this one…

mbox

for 15% off at Menards with the intention of spray painting it white as soon as it gets warm enough outside. I think it will look superb in our entryway. Anyone else come up with unique organization ideas to keep your life less cluttered? I’m sure to save at least 5 minutes a day that I used to spend looking for my keys or the water bill…

5 Responses

  1. I have a nail in my bedroom door that I’m going to hang my keys on… keep losing them. But your idea looks better.
    -seth

  2. We don’t have anything that creative — just a coat rack and a (free) basket for our shoes beneath it. I got a plain white mail/desk organizer from Archivers a while back and decorated it with scrapbook papers to keep our bills in.

  3. Hi Amy! I just noticed your post on Young House Love and wanted to comment. I very well could be wrong (it certainly wouldn’t be the first time), but I think you can put wood on slab, but you have to lay a subfloor first. I’m originally from Florida, where 99% of homes are on slab, and I know plenty of people with hardwoods, so there has to be a way. 🙂 Best of luck!

    • Kristin- thanks for the tip! We actually looked into getting hardwoods, but with the moisture level of our slab, the subfloor would need to be about 3-4″ thick, which means that we would have weird step downs to the rooms with our new carpet and we would have to raise all the door jambs. Too much work for a house that we are not planning to be in forever! We’ve found a gorgeous slate-like porcelain tile for $1.89/sq ft so at least there’s a cheap solution that looks much better than the fake wood!

      • Aha, I see! Yeah, you definitely don’t want to mess with wood and moisture. Awesome find on the tile, by the way! That’s a steal! Good luck. 🙂

Leave a Reply

